Tuesday, 16 Jul 2024
Technology

How to Delete a LinkedIn Account in 5 Simple Steps

Being the only platform of its kind, LinkedIn is dedicated to professional networking. It presents users with growth opportunities and an insight into industry trends. The platform has evolved into a corporate hub, allowing users to showcase their skills, share work experiences, and connect with colleagues, employers, and industry experts in a professional setting.

If you’re looking to delete your LinkedIn account and rebrand your professional presence, this guide is all you need. We will provide you with step-by-step instructions on how to delete your LinkedIn account. But if you want to optimize your LinkedIn account, check out Eireview. Here, you’ll find all the tips, insights, and tools you need to rebuild your LinkedIn presence!

How to Delete Your LinkedIn Account via Browser

So now, let’s look at the steps on how to permanently delete your LinkedIn account. There are two ways to do this. First, let’s look at the steps on how to delete your LinkedIn account from the browser.

Step 1

  • Open LinkedIn from your browser
  • Sign in to your account
  • Select the Me option in the top right corner, beneath your profile photo
  • Select Settings & Privacy from the drop-down menu

me option

Step 2

  • Tap Account Preferences on the left side of the screen
  • Select Account Management
Tham Khảo Thêm:  Eireview - Extractive Industries Review

App account preferences tab - visual

Step 3

Account management - visual
From the Account Management section, select Change in the Close Account tab.

Step 4

  • You will be asked to confirm your decision
  • Select your reason for leaving and click Next

Close account questionnaire - visual

Step 5

  • You will be asked to enter your password again for further verification
  • After inserting your password, select Close Account

Close account - visual

How to Delete Your LinkedIn Account via LinkedIn App

If you don’t want to go through the hassle of opening your account on a laptop, you can delete it directly from the app. Here are instructions on how to delete a LinkedIn account via the LinkedIn app.

Step 1

  • Open the app
  • Tap your profile photo on the upper left corner

App profile option - Visual

Step 2

App settings - Visual
Select Settings from the bottom-left corner.

Step 3

App account preferences tab - visual
Select Account Preferences.

Step 4

App close account option - visual
Select Close Account from the bottom of the menu.

Step 5

App close account-continue-visual
You will get a warning message stating that you’ll lose all data and connections if you close the account. If you still wish to delete your LinkedIn account, select Continue.

Step 6

App close account questionnaire - visual
Select a reason for closing your LinkedIn account, and then select Next.

Step 7

Close account confirmation on app-visual
Now, the LinkedIn app will ask you to confirm your password once more for verification purposes. Once you type that in, select Done.

Why Delete Your LinkedIn Account

Now that you know how, let’s take a look at some reasons why you may deactivate your LinkedIn account.

  • Staying Relevant Is Time Consuming: Utilizing the full potential of LinkedIn for your business or professional growth can be time consuming. If maintaining visibility on LinkedIn becomes overwhelming, deleting your account may be a solution.

  • There’s Too Much Competition: Standing out on LinkedIn can be challenging due to the sheer number of users. If the pressure feels too much, taking a temporary break or deleting your account can provide relief.

  • Your Target Audience Doesn’t Use the Platform: LinkedIn’s usefulness depends on your audience’s presence. If your target audience isn’t using LinkedIn, managing your business’s profile may not be worth the resources.

  • Security Risk: LinkedIn has experienced security breaches in the past, raising concerns about data privacy. If you value your personal information and want to regain control over it, deleting your LinkedIn account may be the solution.

  • Spam Invasion: Dealing with spam on LinkedIn can be tiresome and frustrating. If you’re overwhelmed by unwanted messages and sales pitches, deleting your LinkedIn account may provide a respite.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Practice Hack: Change Your Phone's Language and Level Up Your Learning

How to Recover A Deleted LinkedIn Account

Once you delete your LinkedIn account, all the information on your profile, as well as the endorsements, recommendations, certifications, and connections, will be gone permanently. However, LinkedIn offers a two-week window to retrieve your data before it is permanently deleted.

If you decide to reactivate your LinkedIn account within 14 days of deletion, follow these steps:

Step 1

  • Sign in to your account either via browser or the LinkedIn app.

Step 2

  • Select the blue button to Re-activate my account.

Step 3

  • LinkedIn will confirm that your account has been reactivated, and you will soon receive a confirmation email.

Step 4

  • Once you receive the confirmation email, sign in to your account again and regain access to your account.

Conclusion

Deleting your LinkedIn account is a significant decision, and you should weigh the consequences before proceeding. Remember that there is a two-week window to recover your account, but you won’t retrieve all your data. If you are uncertain about permanently deleting your LinkedIn account, hibernating your account is a viable alternative.