Saturday, 13 Jul 2024
Technology

How to Delete an Instagram Account (The Easy Way)

how to completely delete an instagram account

Decided Instagram isn’t the best fit for your business? No sweat. Unlike real life, there’s an undo button: you can delete your Instagram account permanently.

Before you delete, consider backing up your account data in case you need it. Be aware the data will be a computer-readable HTML or JSON format, not individual profile photos, videos, comments, etc.

Ready? Here’s how to delete your Instagram account in the app, from a computer, or via mobile web browser.

How to delete an Instagram account on iOS

Step 1: Go to your account in the Instagram app. Then, tap the menu icon (3 lines) in the top right corner of the screen.

Step 2: Navigate to Settings, then Account.

Step 3: Tap Delete account.

delete account option

Instagram will suggest deactivating instead of deleting. Deactivation hides your account and is reversible anytime. If you still want to permanently delete the Instagram account, go ahead and tap Delete account.

delete account instead of temporarily deactivating

Step 4: Confirm deletion.

Instagram will ask you AGAIN… You’re sure about this, right?

continue deleting Instagram account

Step 5: Confirm… again.

Instagram draws out the process, which you could argue is either annoying, or a good thing to prevent accidental deletions and angry users.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  How To Overclock Your Android Device

Instagram asks why you want to delete it. Your answer is mandatory and so is entering your password. Clicking the Delete @username button on this page will permanently delete your account.

Delete @username button to permanently delete account

Your account won’t be visible on Instagram anymore but you have 30 days to reverse your decision and reactivate it. After that, it’s real-real gone.

How to delete an Instagram account on Android

For whatever odd reason, the native Instagram app on Android currently doesn’t allow you to delete an account like it does in the iPhone version. It’s weird, but no sweat, just open up a browser and follow the directions below.

How to delete an Instagram account on your computer

If you don’t have access to the app on your current phone or you’re an Android user, you can also delete your Instagram account from any web browser.

The steps below also work for mobile browsers (e.g. Safari or Chrome on your phone).

Step 1: Go to www.instagram.com and sign into your account

Step 2: Visit the Delete Account page.

Step 3: Confirm deletion.

Ensure the username matches the account you want to delete. If not, click Log out on the right side of the screen to go back to Instagram and sign in to the correct account.

Fill out the reason for deleting your Instagram account and enter your password. Tapping Delete @username at the bottom will permanently delete your account.

permanently delete account by selecting username at the bottom of screen

When should you delete your Instagram account?

If you have any doubts at all about deleting your profile, you should temporarily deactivate your Instagram account instead. Deactivated accounts are easily recovered, whereas deleted ones are permanently removed from the platform (after the 30-day grace period).

Tham Khảo Thêm:  15 Cool Free Games Similar to Candy Crush

For most people, I’d recommend deactivation, even if you leave it that way for months or years. It accomplishes the same thing (no one can find or see your account) but without the risk of regret.

Another option is to switch to a private account. Private accounts still show up in search results, but their posts don’t, nor are they publicly viewable on your profile. People can request to follow you, but you don’t have to approve them. Current followers will still be able to see your posts and content, though.

To change to a private account, go to Settings in the app, then Privacy and tap the slider next to Private account to the on position.

tap slider to change to private account

There are a few specific scenarios where deleting your Instagram account makes sense. (Although you could still choose to temporarily disable your account for these, too.)

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Is it possible to recover a deleted Instagram account?

A: No, once you delete your Instagram account, it cannot be recovered. Make sure you are absolutely sure before taking this step.

Q: Can I delete an Instagram account from the mobile app?

A: Yes, you can delete your Instagram account from the mobile app on iOS devices. However, for Android devices, you will need to use a web browser to delete your account.

Q: What happens to my followers and posts when I delete my Instagram account?

A: When you delete your Instagram account, all your followers and posts will be permanently removed from the platform. There is no way to retrieve them after deletion.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Universal Unlock Pattern for Android Without Losing Data

Conclusion

Deleting your Instagram account may seem like a drastic step, but if it no longer serves your business goals or if your target audience doesn’t use the platform, it might be the right decision for you. Remember to weigh the pros and cons and consider deactivating your account as a less permanent option. Whatever you decide, Eireview is here to provide expert guidance and support in the technology field.

Find more insightful articles like this on Eireview.